Requesting a certified copy of a vital record
The Town Clerk issues certified copies of births, deaths, marriages, and divorce certificates to qualified individuals and agencies that provide a "direct and tangible" interest in obtaining a record.
In order to obtain certified copies of Vital Records, you must complete an application and pay a search fee. The current fee is $15.00. This fee is payable whether or not a record is found. Additional copies of the same record issued at the same time are $10.00.
Effective January 1, 2005 all individuals requesting a certified copy of a record must present positive identification, including, but not limited to, a driver’s license, passport or other picture identification, or in the absence of acceptable picture identification shall complete a separate form.
Application for a marriage license
If either person has been married before, they must present a:
certified copy of the divorce decree;
certified copy of annulment, or;
certified copy of the death certificate.
An appointment is required to apply for a marriage license. Bring photo identification. The filing fee is $50.00 payable at the time you apply for the license. Both parties must be present and have all of the required information. The marriage license will be processed while you wait. The whole process usually takes about 20 minutes.
New Hampshire law does not require any waiting period or any witnesses to your marriage ceremony. Once issued, your license is valid for 90 days.
Apostilles and Affidavit of Single Status Certificates
Many documents which are being filed out of this country for adoptions, education, relocations, etc. require an apostille or certification of the Notary Public or Justice of the Peace signature. Each document must have an original New Hampshire Notary Public or Justice of the Peace signature witnessing the signature of the author of the document. If signed by a notary, the notary's seal must be included in order to be certified by this office. Please make sure your documents are notarized before bringing them to the Secretary of State's Office. The signatures must be those of a Notary Public or Justice of the Peace for the State of New Hampshire.
The State of New Hampshire, Secretary of State's Office charges a $10.00 fee per apostille or certificate is charged. This may be paid in cash or check made payable to the State of New Hampshire. If you have 10 or more apostilles/certificates, and will be bringing them to our office and waiting for them, an additional expedited fee of $25 will be charged for every 10 apostilles/certificates needed.
Documents hand carried to the Secretary of State's Office will be accepted between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. The office is located in the State House - Room 204 at 107 North Main Street in Concord, New Hampshire.
Documents mailed to the office should be accompanied by a letter indicating what country the document is going to, a check in the correct amount, and a self-addressed postage-paid envelope for returning the document to you. Also, we request that you include a phone number where you may be reached should we have any questions. Click here for a form that you can fill out on line and print for this purpose.
Mailing address: Secretary of State's Office, 107 North Main Street, Room 204, Concord, N.H. 03301
Phone: (603) 271-3242
The Town Clerk's Office has a Notary available by appointment. Notary services are only provided for town and state documents. Personal documents will not be accepted. Please contact the office by phone (603) 536-1732 or email to set up an appointment.
Justice of the Peace